Prayers for Jennifer Fulwiler!

Jennifer Fulwiler was admitted to the hospital Wednesday afternoon for pulmonary embolisms in both lungs.  Hallie Lord passed along this update this morning:

They are holding off on surgery (though it’s still an option) due to the size of the PEs and the fact that she is pregnant. Right now she’s just on heavy doses of blood thinners and being watched closely. It’s great news that the night passed without incident, but until the PEs are completely dissolved, it remains a very dangerous and scary situation.

and also this:

Many of you have asked what the Fulwilers might need in the way of assistance right now. I just talked to Jen and she’s going to think about it throughout the day. I’ll keep you posted on that front, too! Thank you so much for your kindness! I know she’s feeling the love!

Many people have been using the Saint Name Generator Jen designed a few years ago, to help them choose a patron for the newyear.  Jen’s saint for 2013 turned out to be Michael the Archangel, who is, of course, patron of the sick (among other things).

Will you please join me in praying to Michael the Archangel for Jen’s quick and complete healing, and for peace and comfort for her and for her family?

Holy Michael the Archangel,
defend us in battle;
be our protection against the wickedness and snares of the devil.
May God rebuke him, we humbly pray:
and do thou, O Prince of the heavenly host,
by the divine power,
cast into hell Satan and all the evil spirits
who wander the world seeking the ruin of souls.
Amen.

st-michael-archangel

 

16 comments

  1. Praying praying praying. Thank you for the update, I hadn’t heard, and i will be thinking of and praying for her all day.

  2. Just prayed! Also, St. Raphael, pray for us and especially for Jen! He is the soothing balm of the Lord. 🙂

    I also wanted to add that I tried her FANTASTIC saint generator and the result floored me. I got St. Gerard Majella. I am 11 weeks along and was thinking of my baby when I clicked the button. 😀 God is good.

  3. Praying for Jen and family. I am praying for our Lord to intervene and dissolve those PE’s. This is so serious. First and foremost, Jen needs our prayers.

    Please keep us informed if we can help in other ways.

  4. Archangel Raphael is my saint, the saint of healing. I’m praying to him to watch over her and her medical team, and of course her family. I said a rosary last night and will pray throughout the day for her.

  5. Huge prayers sent!

    I also suffered a pulmonary embolism while pregnant, and bilateral pulmonary emboli prior to that. My PE occurred at 20 weeks and I was able to stave off delivery until 39 weeks under intense medical supervision. I declined the placement of a stent and opted for increased anticoagulation. My daughter was healthy save for being a bit underweight.

    May God be with Jen and the baby, may He guide the doctors well, and may He provide comfort to the family!

  6. As requested I prayed the St. Michael the Archangel prayer for Jennifer Fulwiler. In addition I plan to have a Mass offered specifically for her. I certainly will help if she needs further assistance. I used the Saint Name Generator and I got St. Anne, the grandmother of Jesus.

  7. […] Please continue your prayers for Jen and Baby Boy Fulwiler and her family. Her case has special significance to me because I also have a genetic blood clotting disorder that complicates life and pregnancy, especially. Again, we need to storm heaven with prayers, particularly to St Michael.  […]

  8. Back in 2005 I had blood clots and began researching online after I came home from the hospital. I entered the name of the medication I was on into the search bar, and strangely, one of the sites that came up was Jen’s first blog, “The Reluctant Atheist.” (She was recounting her blood clot disorder and mentioned the same medication.) I’m a convert to Catholicism, and though I’ve never been an atheist, I do have a couple in my family – so I felt compelled to read her blog. And I continued to check in on her and followed her conversion, happily so. I discovered we had a lot in common and had actually crossed paths a time or two. I feel a special need to pray for her and baby boy Fulwiler. My husband will be going to adoration in a few hours and I’ve asked him to pray for her, then I’ll be going tomorrow morning and will certainly be praying for her before the Blessed Sacrament.

Leave a comment