Christmas Group Shot

Silly me, I thought we would never get around to taking a group photo this year, but there we all are!  I guess this is God’s way of telling us to slow down and have ourselves a streppy little New Year.  Also, He hates us.

Oh, just kidding!  If He hated us, the pharmacy would have run out of penicillin before our order was complete.  Oh, wait, it did.

Meh, it could be worse.  My husband isn’t working this weekend, so we can all have one last chance to enjoy a good old-fashioned family vacation together, sitting around the fire and sipping our disgusting pink medicine, trading good old stories about what we imagined we saw on the ceiling when the fever was at its peak, and tapping out the rhythm of our favorite old songs.  Can’t sing.  Throat hurts.

Really, really, it’s not that bad!  The worst part is the crushing guilt I feel when I think about all those friends and family eating all that fudge and peanut brittle and buckeyes I made with my own, two, plague-ridden hands. . .

16 comments

  1. Strep has been really bad around here, too. Hope you all feel better! I will be thinking of you. Happy New Year! May you all feel better in the new year!

  2. “Also, He hates us.”

    I think I’m going to pee my pants laughing at this.
    Would that be laughing AT you, or WITH you?
    I dunno. I’ll confess it tomorrow just to make sure.

    Get better soon!

  3. Sounds like the weekend the ‘Barf Fairy’ came to visit my large family. I was about 15 and I distinctly remember one vivid image from that horrible, horrible, horrible, fevered weekend.

    We were at a retreat centre doing volunteer renovation work when we all came down with a truly epic flu bug. I am the oldest of six and I remember stumbling into the large common washroom at the end of the hall, and there at the toilet was one of my younger siblings barfing his toenails out. So I turn the bathtub and what do I see? I see my other four siblings on their knees barfing into the tub, and my mother slumped against the wall with a bucket in her lap. She pointed silently to the sink, and when back to barfing into her bucket. My poor father.

    Feel better.

  4. Ah, Simcha, you bring light into my life. Can you imagine what families did before antibiotics? Hope everyone feels much better before it’s time to head back to work/school.

  5. How you can be so funny while so sick is a marvel. Sorry you’re all miserable but thanks for sharing (at a distance!). Hope you all are back to normal pronto.

  6. Sorry to say, those medicine bottles should be kept out of the light as much as possible. I worked in a pharmacy (cashier, tech, etc.) and listened closely to the pharmacists. The bottles are brown, they would say, to keep out light, which in some cases will make the medications less effective. They would also say to keep meds out of high humidity conditions such as the bathroom or kitchen. Hope you feel real better real soon!

  7. I’m just catching up on you – I’ve been busy with Christmas stuff and illness not quite as impressive as yours. What a delightful person you are!
    I hope you are all better soon. Thanks for all the insights and laughs. Thanks for blogging.
    When the year starts with this many drugs it can only get better, no?

  8. Get well soon!
    I’ll share my family’s flu story, though it’s really my grandmother’s. My father and his sister had a bad flu at the same time, back in the day before spin drying cycles. My grandmother knew she’d have a hard time keeping up with the laundry, so she put them to bed in the same bed. When the inevitable happened she would rotate the sheet 90 degrees so the kids had a clean edge under their chins. Even so, my father remembers the first, already-fouled edge coming back around before the other sheets were washed and ironed dry.

Leave a comment