For your marriage

I had to cut this detail out of today’s post, but my husband would like it known that the sports radio station he favors regularly hosts photo caption contests.

On the radio.

But he always ends up there because at least it’s not the news, which I understand.  When I can’t stomach the news anymore, I’ll listen to anything, even a cassette tape of someone named Long John Baldry reading a dubious “origins” story about Winnie the Pooh.  Most of the story is taken up explaining how he got the name “Winnie,” but my favorite part is toward the end, when he says, in his rich, plummy, British voice, “But where does POOH come from?  We-heh-hell,  that’s a story for another day!” 

I’m sure it is, Long John Baldry.  I’m sure it is.

3 comments

  1. You totally crack me up! I’ve never met you (obviously) but your “voice on paper” is astoundingly clear. So glad I found your blog!

  2. I don’t know about Long John Baldry, but there is a pretty long introduction or contradiction in Winnie-the-Pooh explaining the name. Some thing about a swan or something I think. And you know what ther means don’t you? Funny stuff.

  3. I watched a video of Long John Baldry. He got his start around the same time that Elvis Presley did. Cannot recall any of his songs of that era.

Leave a Reply

