I remembered!

On Friday, I was trying to remind you or myself of something, but I couldn’t remember what.  There were many helpful suggestions — or, well, there were no helpful suggestions.  But as it happens, right in the preparations for my first teenage birthday party  — and here’s a hint for you parents:  if you have seven fragile-looking, waifish, slender reed-type girls to feed, you need to know that four pounds of strawberries, five pounds of grapes, two enormous bags of chips, a giant veggie and dip platter, five large pizzas, a chocolate cake and two dozen cup cakes with cream cheese frosting is going to just barely be enough food.  I’ve never seen anyone eat like that before.  And I never actually saw them chewing, but somehow every time I turned around, the food was gone again.

Oh, and here’s another tip:  never ask a crowd of thirteen-year-old girls, “What would you like to do now?”  They all feel very strongly about it, but are psychologically completely incapable of letting an adult know what they want.  So I think they had a good time.  Or maybe not.  Anyway, it’s over now.

Anyway, right in the middle of the preparations for this magnificent party, I remembered!  I remembered what I wanted to remind you.  Here it is:

Now that Mitt Romney is officially running for president, keep the following in mind.

This:

and this:

Well, that’s all.  Oh, I feel better now.

16 comments

  1. Thanks for the pictures? I’ll have trouble getting them out of my head.

    I believe waifish teens are the worst with food. I can’t believe how much the waifish almoststepdaughter puts away. Congrats on surviving the party!

  2. That made me laugh, just like the pictures of fat Republicans. Did I hear on the news Donald Trump cozying up to Tea Party types or am I in a prolonged episode of the Twilight Zone?

  3. Ha! Well, I don’t know what it means, but when I first looked at the photos before reading the post, I thought the first one was of game show host Chuck Woolery, and doesn’t the second look a bit like the host of the old Match Game, Gene Rayburn?

  4. Mitt Romney was the governor of MA when we lived there. I liked him. I get that you think he’s… uh… not so good, but being largely politically ignorant (don’t tell my mother), I don’t know much about him. What’s wrong with him?

    • Well, his main achievement as gov of MA was healthcare reform, which was and is a huge disaster, and served as the model for Obamacare, which is turning out to be a huge disaster.

      The other thing I don’t like about him is that he is a tremendous, unbelievable phony. I don’t believe he’s truly pro-life, and I don’t believe anything he says.

      But other than that.

  5. Hah. We’re preparing for an election up here, too. The prospects are at least as hopeless as yours, but we get the painful process over a whole lot faster.

  6. Good candidates? Oh, that’s a tough one.

    I like Bobby Jindal. I wish he’d run last time, but he didn’t. He probably won’t run this time either.

    The only Republican candidate I liked last time around was Ron Paul, but he probably won’t run either. I like his son Rand better than any of the other Republicans who ran last time, but he probably won’t run either.

Leave a Reply

