Items!

ITEM!  My new post is up at the Register:  “Hey, You:  God Is Here.”  We all know God is everywhere, but how do we help ourselves remember it, and feel it?  Rejected title:  “You Can’t Have Prayed, You’re Still Dry!”

ITEM!  The Faith and Family Mom’s Day Away last weekend was really wonderful.  I’m going to write about it this week, and steal other people’s pictures, because I couldn’t find my camera.  Danielle, if you’re reading this:  sorry I forgot to give you that wine.  We’ll have to toast you from here, instead.  Salut, lovely lady.  You made a lot of moms happy this weekend.

ITEM!  Don’t forget, there’s still time to enter into the “What’s in the bag?” contest.  Don’t put your answers in the comment box; email them to simchafisher@gmail.com by Thursday, April 7 to win a two-year subscription to Faith and Family Magazine!

ITEM!  Lucy gets her stitches out today!  I have never seen a kid heal so fast, and I attribute that to all of your prayers.  Thank you, my friends.

Here’s a picture of her, so you can see how well she’s doing.  She was hiding in a tent, so I said, “Lucy, come out so I can take a picture of you!”  She scrambled out, grinning and covered with magic marker (I’m hoping).  I was going to wash it off for the picture, but this is, after all, SO Lucy.  This is what she looks like less than a week after her terrible fall:

She is still processing what happened to her.  This morning, she asked me, “Mama, is a floor the same as a ceiling?”  Yes, Lucy, when you are made out of monkeys, it certainly can be.

ITEM!  Does anyone want to have an open thread about working moms and NFP?  Several people mentioned in the comments that working women often get left out of discussions regarding Catholics practices.  I don’t have anything personal to add, but I would be more than happy to host a discussion about it.  If you have discussion ideas or questions I can use to start the conversation going, please email me at simchafisher@gmail.com and put “working moms discussion” in the subject.

18 comments

  1. I have one that is made out of monkeys as well. Actually, we have two that are made out of monkeys and two that are made out of … play-doh? cat? something more sedate. Glad Lucy is taking it all in stride. (And aren’t washable markers the best invention ever? I turned around in the car one day to find that one of our monkeys had coloured herself green – every reachable surface – so that she could be a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle.)

  2. It was great to quickly meet you on Saturday (picture of you on my blog). I am so glad your daughter is healing so fast and yes, I am one of those working moms who uses NFP so I would love more discussions on that. Thank you!

  3. AAAAAHHHH! It was so great to meet you, even though it took me until lunch to finally come over and tell you how much I love your blog. You can now make a T-shirt that says, “I Am Like A Rockstar to Cari”. Yeah, it’s a pretty big deal.
    In fact, I think I’ll make it for you.

    Lucy looks great! My husband just had an injury requiring stitches, and I know how helpful prayers are to the healing process. We haven’t tried Magic Marker, though.

    And now I am going to read your post. The end.

  4. I’m curious how NFP is different for working moms vs. SAHMs vs. single people? Would be interested in the thread just for some insight since I’ve never thought about it or heard anyone else mention a difference. I’ve only used NFP up to now as a single working person, but I’ve never heard any of my working mom friends bring up any differences either.

  5. I am with Kathleen. I am a working mom doing NFP, but I’m not sure how it would be different if I were a SAHM. I’m all for a conversation… I would love to learn more (and now I’m worried I’m missing some vital NFP information… some crucial working mom knowledge that is essential to practicing NFP properly. Do let me know if we’re going about this all wrong!).

  6. So glad that Lucy’s recovering so well. She was obviously assigned an All-Star (and, we can only pray, inexhaustible) Guardian Angel.

    Jean Schulz wrote this about her husband, Charles (aka “Sparky”), and his view of children that underlay the classic “Peanuts” comic strip:

    > Children, he would have told you, are simply adults
    > “with the lids still on.” He believed firmly that we are
    > the product of our genes and that all of the
    > characteristics are there within us as children,
    > simmering, waiting to emerge. So the envy and
    > anger expressed in “Good Ol’ Charlie Brown. How I
    > hate him” in the first strip, shocks us, but Sparky
    > knew, whether or not we want to admit it, children
    > feel that emotion. When Sparky saw a child with a
    > very strong personality, he observed how difficult
    > that person would be “when the lid comes off.”

    I think Sparky was largely right. But Lucy (your darling Lucy, not Schulz’s) strikes me as the sort of exceptional child who never bothered/tolerated/needed having a lid put on in the first place.

      • NFP methods are great for single women who want to know their bodies better, particularly if they have certain medical issues (PCOS, thyroid). It’s not so much of a “family planning” intent in those cases, obviously, but the methods are the same.

        • Of course I’m sorry. I thought of that after I posted. I recently found out about NaPro technology and I’m sure there are many single women dealing with gynecological issues that would benefit from understanding their reproductive cycle better. My bad.
          OH and Simcha _I’m glad your little sweetie is on the mend. My now 23 year old got stitches in her head from running into a radiator when her little sister was 5 days old. She was 2. She made it through and fortunately so did I.

  7. I’m so jealous that you got to meet Danielle (and others). She remains one of my heroes, one of the true and authentic “Greats” . 🙂 Good is good to give us such strong women and role models!

    Your monkey is beautiful and I love seeing her.

    I have a monkey, too. He actually looks like one. I”m not kidding. He is part monkey—we don’t know what happened. He is my 5 year-old, but I won’t give you any clues.

    God bless, Simcha!

  8. That discussion would be great. My hubby and I are seeking a vasectomy reversal and I would love to use NFP, but the course I am planning on doing is 3 years, non-stop, no breaks, all or nothing. Interested how people have done such a thing, or established a career, if NFP hasn’t worked for them…in an unexpected pregnancy kind of way…I can’t remember where I put my keys, sometimes I’m not organised enough to get matching socks…I know that is all me not NFP but I can see that there may be a similarity somewhere along the line…interested how people cope. I realise I need more info on it, so don’t berate me. Just expressing interest is all.

  9. Obviously the mechanics of NFP are the same for a working mom, but the challenges and rewards are no doubt a bit different. For instance, the recent discussion of NFP vs. providentialism, with all of the thoughtful debate over what constitutes a valid reason for pregnancy avoidance felt a bit alien to me as a working mother, if only because the nature of my job — and, I imagine, many full-time jobs — means that most months a pregnancy isn’t what I’m hoping or planning for: I’m about to have my second child in four years, and that rather generous spacing is what has made it possible for me to do my job and be a mother in a sane, happy way. I’m largely at peace with this personally: I feel called to serve God in my work, and it is work in which I find fulfillment that I’d be hesitant to dismiss as selfish. But I recognize that others might disagree — might argue, in fact, that the profession I’m part of and many others like it simply can’t be reconciled with a vocation as a wife and mother because they aren’t easily compatible with having many children, at least not in brief span of time. If there’s any space where these tensions might be aired charitably and thoughtfully, I’d guess this blog might be it.

  10. Simcha, I’m hoping that you and your Lucy can pray for me and mine. My Lucy is 9 months old, and has a brand new cast on her left leg. Poor baby. 😦 Now I’m paranoid that Child Services is going to come after us or something. I love your blog, and thanks in advance for your prayers!

    • Of course, Jennifer! I’m so sorry – that must be so hard on all of you. Babies are so much tougher than they look, though – I bet your little one will be clambering around really soon, ignoring the cast. (I was once at a playground and the mom and dad were hovering over their toddler. I kind of snickered at their over protectiveness, and said, “Aw, kids that age are made out of rubber – you gotta give them space!” Then the mom told me the kid had just gotten her cast taken off. Gulp.

Leave a Reply

